Team and Board

Karin Hosetter

Karin Hostetter  
Executive Director

Karin is a Earlham graduate who has a variety of great experience in nature and outdoor education, along with a great deal of knowledge in interpretation. Karin has relocated from Colorado to join us here at CEC, and we so look forward to welcoming her to the Wayne County community and beyond. In Karin’s spare time, she enjoys visiting farmers’ markets, craft fairs, gardening, quilting, hiking, showing American Saddlebred horses, and travel.

Brent Evans

Brent Evans
Facilities and Grounds Coordinator

Brent is the Facilities and Grounds Coordinator. He received his Associate’s Degree in Conservation Law from Vincennes University and his Bachelor’s Degree in General Science from Indiana University East. He has taken classes in forestry through Purdue Extension and is well-versed in the care and development of natural areas. Before becoming a year-round employee, Brent served as a summer intern. His knowledge of natural resources and equipment maintenance makes him an invaluable addition to the team. Brent lives in Centerville with his wife Courtney.

Stephanie McCurdy

Stephanie McCurdy
Program & Volunteer Coordinator

Stephanie holds a Bachelor Degree in Natural Resources from Purdue University and has 20 years of experience working in the non-profit sector of Wayne County. She brings to CEC a wealth of knowledge in programming, outreach, fundraising, and event planning. She also has a lifelong love of the woods, is passionate about frogs and other herps, and enjoys sharing her knowledge with people from many different backgrounds. Stephanie is certified in Project Learning Tree, Project WET, Project Wild/Aquatic, Go FishIN, and is a Master Gardener. She is active with the Indiana Envirothon Competition and happily volunteers her time supporting the various activities of her sidekicks, James and Morgan. 

amanda jetmore

Amanda Jetmore

Amanda holds a Bachelor Degree in Accounting from the University of Evansville. Before joining CEC staff she worked as a contract bookkeeper for CEC for five years. We also share her with the Wayne County Historical Museum and First English Lutheran Church. Amanda first came to CEC because she was inspired by Marianne Cope, who was the kindergarten teacher for both of her daughters. Amanda admired the values that Marianne instilled in her children and has continued to share and encourage the love of nature and the outdoors with them at CEC ever since. Her daughters have attended CEC’s camps since they were five years old and now they both are Junior Rangers, special volunteers who help lead the Summer Adventure Camps. Amanda’s favorite outdoor activity is running. Amanda also enjoys sewing, knitting, and gardening.

Board of Directors

Cope Environmental Center has an amazing volunteer Board of Directors! They work well with the staff and are passionate contributors to the community and the programs of CEC. All board members can be reached via email using the following address equation:


Cope Environmental Center’s Board of Directors meet on the 4th Tuesday of each month at 4:00 pm. If the meeting falls on or near a holiday, the meeting time and date might be rearranged to accommodate schedules.


Board Member Roster for 2021

  • Karen Black – Communities in Schools 
  • Angela Burke – Dr. Angela Burke, DDS
  • Gail Connerley – Bethany Theological Seminary
  • Ed Cope, Ex-Officio – Retired, Cope Family Member
  • Marianne Cope – Retired, Cope Family Member
  • Eric Dimick Eastman – Green Filing, LLC.
  • Claudia Edwards Preble County Arts Association
  • Ted Gilman – Retired, National Audobon Society
  • Ginger Gray – Ginger Gray Productions
  • Pat Heiny – Early Childhood Coalition
  • Cheri Jetmore – Retired
  • Randy Kirk – Reid Health Foundation

  • Chris Little – Earlham College

  • Pam Merchanthouse – Retired, Friends Fellowship Community 

  • Marie Cope Nicholson – Retired, Cope Family Member

  • Kim Reid – Earlham College

  • John Robinson – Friends Fellowship Community

  • Tracie Robinson – Better Homes & Gardens Realty

  • Neil Sabine – Indiana University East

  • Jim Tanner – Tanner Leather

  • Jackie Vanderpool – Retired, Hill’s Pet Nutrition

Lifetime Trustees for 2021